SCARED — Saturday, March 18, 2017 – Monterey Bay, California, USA – kayaker attacked

17_3_19_Kayak_Damage

shark bite marks in Brian Correiar’s kayak

Brian Correiar was kayaking 100 metres offshore in Monterey Bay, California on Saturday 18 March 2017 when a great white shark attacked the 14-foot, single-person ocean kayak he was paddling.

“It all started with a bang,” Correiar told National Geographic. “Suddenly the kayak was launched into the air and I fell halfway out of it. I began yelling. I remember thinking, ‘I have to do a deep-water entry from the kayak, and I haven’t practiced that since my last rescue class.’”

VIDEO: watch video of incident here.

Just 3 feet away he could see the shark which had latched on to his kayak. He says initially he froze, but then slid out the kayak and started to swom to short on his back so he could keep an eye on the shark.

The shark surged towards him with the kayak still in its mouth.

“At this point I was really nervous, I was sure I was done,” he said.

He saw a small yacht approaching and waved to it. At this point the shark dived below him

“It was like a horror movie,” Correiar told National Geographic. “The shark came toward me, dropped the kayak, then dove straight down below me where I couldn’t see it.”

The skipper of the yacht came alongside Correiar and managed to pull him aboard, unharmed.

Sources:

National Geographic

New York Daily News

Photo: Brian Correiar  / National Geographic

Explore posts in the same categories: Americas, great white, kayaker, scared

Leave a comment