INJURED – 17 February 2010 – Yellow Sands Point, East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa – surfer attacked

shark_yellowsMichal du Plessis, 19, suffered multiple lacerations to his right leg above and below the knee after being bitten by a shark while surfing at Yellow Sands Point, just north of East London on South Africa’s east coast. The incident happened on Tuesday morning, 17 February 2010.

He told the Daily Dispatch:

“We had been in the water for about an hour-and-a-half and I was paddling into a wave when something hit me on the side and knocked me off my (surf) board.

Map picture

He said he fell off his board and went underwater where he turned to see what knocked him off and found himself face to face with a shark.

He shouted to his friends to get out of the water.

“Even before I saw it, I knew it was a shark. There was nothing else out there that could have hit me, and I knew we had to get out before it struck again.”

He said although he felt no pain he was worried he’d lost his leg. When he looked down he saw the wound and lots of blood in the water.

“My friends helped me across the rocks, tied a board leash on my leg to stop the bleeding and rushed me to the Crossways Pharmacy,” where he was stabilised and given an anti-shock injection.

From there he was taken to Life St Dominic’s Hospital in East London.

Not detail about which type of shark it was, was mentioned in the report.

Sources:
Daily Dispatch

PIC source:
Daily Dispatch

Explore posts in the same categories: Africa

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

