INJURED – 23 January 2010 — Umm Suqeim beach, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Dubai shark attack victimMichael Geraghty (54) was bitten on the foot while surfing off Umm Suqeim beach, Dubai, United Arab Emirates on Saturday 23 January 2010, reports 7Days newspaper.

Geraghty told the newspaper he was pulled from his board while surfing.

“I felt something yank me from the board,” he said. “When I looked around I could see there was a lot of blood but I didn’t feel anything at first. I assumed I’d caught my leg on some floating debris or junk.”

He was taken to Rashid Hospital where the small wound to the ball of his foot was stitched up. Doctors said there were teeth marks around the wound.

The founder of research project Shark Quest Arabia, Jonathon Ali Khan was quoted as saying: “It’s possible it was a baby or one of the local species, like a black tip, just being curious and having a taste.”

Sources:

7 Days

PIC Source:

7 Days

Explore posts in the same categories: Middle East

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

