INJURED – 29 December 2009 – Port Alfred, Eastern Cape, South Africa – swimmer attacked

Simon Bruce, 20, was bitten on the left foot by what is believed to be a ragged tooth shark while in chest deep water off the beach at Port Alfred in the Eastern Cape, South Africa.

He told media:

“I was walking out into the sea at about 08:30. The water was a little bit murky, but it was really flat. I was walking on a sandbank and I was no more than chest deep when I felt a bump on my foot. I didn’t feel the bite at all.

“Then I felt the shark rub against the top of my legs and I freaked. I assumed straightaway it was a shark.”

He said he did not see the shark at all and immediately headed back to the beach.

While he was wading back to shore his foot started to “feel funny” and he realised he had been bitten.

Two friends on the beach wrapped his foot in a towel and took him to hospital.

No other details were reported.

Sources:

News 24

Explore posts in the same categories: Africa

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

