INJURED – Terramar Beach, Carlsbad, California, US – 25 August 2009 – swimmer attacked

 

shark_carlsbad Bethany Edmund (age not reported) was swimming about 100 metres offshore of Terramar Beach, near Carlsbad, California, US, when she was bitten on the left foot and leg by what is thought to have been a juvenile great white. She received minor injuries and bruising and didn’t require hospitalisation. The incident occurred on Tuesday, 25 August 2009.

She told San Diego News:

"I felt a sharp pinching pain on my foot.” She thought she had kicked the reef.

"I started swimming sideways on my side and that’s when I got hit for the third time, about 30 seconds after I started swimming and that one propelled me about a foot out of the water."

The shark took another bite on her calf.

"I went and caught the next wave and I felt the same sharp pain on my calf, but this time I got pulled down and shaken around for four or five seconds and I accidently kicked it and it let me go and to that point I was in waist-high water and I started running," said Edmund.

A shark expert said Edmund’s bright-green toenail polish might have triggered the attack.

Sources:
San Diego News (with video interview)
CBS8

Picture source:
CBS8

Explore posts in the same categories: great white

One Comment on “INJURED – Terramar Beach, Carlsbad, California, US – 25 August 2009 – swimmer attacked”

  1. Ricko Says:

    A shark expert said Edmund’s bright-green toenail polish might have triggered the attack.

    Here we go again! An “Expert”! This person wasn’t attacked because of nail polish! She was attacked because she was swimming with sharks and sharks eat things that move! How many of the other attacks were because of nail polish? None of them had it on. Forget the “experts”, because there are none. Animals eat when they are hungry. If you want them to eat you, just be there around supper time. There’s no special formula for figuring out what that growl in your stomach is! ….good luck 🙂


Leave a Reply

